A regular meeting of the Roscommon County Board of Road Commissioners was held at 7p.m. July 23, 2020 at the Road Commission office. Present: Jim Porath, Fred Chidester, Brian Vaughn, Justin Wykoff and John Earley. Also, present: Manager Tim O'Rourke and Board Clerk Stefanie E. Simmons. Employees present: Roger Saxton, Scott Eckstorm, Suzanne Hiller and Neil Belanger. Guests present were Steven Doggett, Kevin Wiedman, David Udy, and Houghton Lake Resorter – Krista Tacey-Cater.

- Motion Chidester, second Earley that the Agenda be approved as presented. All Ayes. Motion carried.
- 2. Motion Chidester, second Earley that payroll in the amount of \$118,386.87, covered by voucher #8894, be approved as presented. Roll Call Vote: Earley Aye, Chidester Aye, Vaughn Aye, Wykoff Aye, Porath Aye. Nays: None. Motion carried.
- 3. Motion Earley, second Chidester that bills in the amount of \$293,959.09, covered by voucher #8895, be approved as presented. Roll Call Vote: Chidester Aye, Vaughn Aye, Earley Aye, Wykoff Aye, Porath Aye. Nays: None. Motion carried.
- 4. Kevin Wiedman spoke to the Board about the lack of brine on Eagle Avenue in Gerrish Township and the missing stop sign at the intersection of Eagle and Illinois. He also gave the Board 2 letters from neighbors regarding the brine situation.
- 5. Steve Doggett from the E. Birch and Riverside Lane area presented to the Board. He said he was glad the hole was fixed but would like to see the seasonal road sign moved and the road maintained.
- 6. Commissioner Vaughn moved to rescind Item #5 in the July 9, 2020 minutes, to award the salt barn lighting bid to the low bidder of Blanchard Electric for a cost of \$43,500, second by Earley. All Ayes. Motion Carried.
- 7. Motion Vaughn, second Earley to award the Salt Barn Lighting bid to bidder Blanchard Electric for a cost of \$27,200 to include Emmet County, Otsego County and Roscommon County only. Porath Aye, Chidester Aye, Earley Aye, Wykoff Aye, and Vaughn Aye. Motion carried.
- 8. Denton Township Non-Certified Roads have been tabled until the next board meeting on August 13, 2020.
- 9. Motion Earley, second Chidester to adopt the proposed Purchasing Policy as presented. All Ayes. Motion carried.
- 10. Quotes for the living snow fence were presented. Board tabled this until the next regular meeting.
- 11. Second quarter budget review was presented. A special meeting may be called to review in detail.
- 12. Motion Chidester, second Earley to adopt the proposed Budget Policy as presented. All Ayes. Motion carried.

- 13. Fund Balance draft policy was reviewed. Policy was tabled until the next regular Board meeting.
- 14. Revised Primary Road plan for 2021 was presented.
- 15. Motion Earley, second Vaughn to accept all bids for the ¾ ton trucks and table until the next regular meeting. All Ayes. Motion carried.
- 16. Motion Earley, second Vaughn to accept all bids for the ½ ton trucks and table until the next regular meeting. All Ayes. Motion carried.
- 17. Estimates were presented for the double chip pilot program on Riley and Cornell Roads, Denton Township. Projects will not be done with RCRC money due to budget constraints.
- 18. Retirement letter from Scott Eckstorm was received. Board thanked him for his 26 years of service and accepted his letter with great regret.
- 19. Correspondence: 1) Prein & Newhof newsletter 2) CRA Legal issues forum 3) CRA Engineering meeting
- 20. Managers' report was presented.
- 21. Commissioners Reports were given: Chidester encountered the paving operation on M-18, rode the bike path in Roscommon Township and the south side is rough. Earley encountered the M-18 paving operation, most things were smooth except for the flagging. Vaughn encountered the F-97 curve project. Wykoff saw the patches on Collingwood.
- 22. Public Comment: David Udy thanked Art Allen for his help and hard work with his township.

There being no further business to come before the Board, Chair Porath declared the meeting adjourned at 8:30 p.m. The next regular meeting will be held at 7 p.m. August 13, 2020 at the Road Commission Office.

(Minutes subject to Board approval)		
Stefanie E. Simmons, Board Clerk	Jim Porath, Chair	