A special meeting of the Roscommon County Board of Road Commissioners was held at 9:00 a.m. August 6, 2020 at the Road Commission office. Present: Jim Porath, John Earley, Justin Wykoff, Fred Chidester and Brian Vaughn. Also present: Manager Tim O'Rourke and Board Clerk Stefanie Simmons. Employees present Roger Saxton, Jeff Jeske, Dan Price, Scott Eckstorm, Justin Akin, Rick Thompson, Bryan Jeske, Art Allen, Eric Bigford and Paul Lewis. Guests Present Krista Tacey Cater – Houghton Lake Resorter and Clint Stauffer.

- 1. Motion Vaughn, second Earley that agenda be approved as presented. All Ayes. Motion Carried.
- 2. Discussion was held on the 2020 Budget. Manager O'Rourke reported that Treasury estimates that the MTF will be \$6.1 Million which does not include the \$600M of redirected income tax. This could potentially add a couple hundred thousand to the revenue. New estimated budget totals are \$10.6 revenue and \$11.2 expense.
- 3. Layoffs were done Wednesday leaving 13 employees working on the crew. All temporary employees were laid off until the end of the year.
- 4. Public Comment: Rick Thompson asked if the Board has considered an independent audit? Commissioner Porath stated they have considered it. Jeff Jeske asked what steps the Board will take in the future to make sure this mistake does not happen again? Commissioner Porath stated they are not sure what they can do in the future. Possibly to look at the budget on a monthly basis. As a Board you can only deal with the information that you are presented. Porath stated he was lead to believe that they were on track in the first quarter and things only got worse. Jeff also asked that if the RCRC does not have the revenue to pay the bills, would the Board have borrow money to meet their obligations? Commissioner Porath stated that he doesn't know that answer and they are researching it.

There being no further business to come before the Board, Chair Porath declared the meeting adjourned at 9:27 a.m. The next regular meeting will be held at 7 p.m. August 13, 2020 at the Road Commission Office.

(Minutes subject to Board approval)

Stefanie E. Simmons, Board Clerk

Jim Porath, Chair